Ok so last night, the Little Rock city council or someone in power passed a new Pit Bull Ordinance. I now have to get my dog fixed (which was done years ago), get him a microchip, get him licensed, registered, and get a permit for him. I also have to pay several fees for all of that. Oh, and don't forget I have to get a picture taken of myself and my dog to keep on file, as well as place a sticker on my window that shows I have a "dangerous dog" in my house that is visible to the street. All of this has to be done by May 20th. If that isn't excessive, I don't know what is!
Thankfully, I'll be moving to San Diego shortly after that, so if they pass any more stupidity, I wont be here. But it just seems excessive to do all this to my dog, and for my dog, when he hasn't done anything to hurt anyone. He is the sweetest dog I've ever met...anyone who has played with him will tell you so! I think this is stupid and ignorant and paranoid. Thankfully though, LR didn't do what Sherwood did about pitbulls - they had to register their dogs, and get them tattooed with a number (yes, like the Jews in WWII). If their dogs ever got caught out, or without a tattoo, the first time its a $1000 fine, the second time, the dog gets put to sleep. Fortunately, a lot of vets apparently testified before the council to not get the dogs banned, or tattooed!
2.21.2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment